October 5, 2026
Amazon Review Requests Ads: Paid Review Growth, Capped at 1,000 Ratings
Amazon’s review policy has always been clear in principle: you cannot buy reviews. Review Requests does not change that rule, but it does introduce a paid campaign type whose entire purpose is producing them.
Amazon Ads will open Review Requests in a US open beta in late October 2026, letting sellers and vendors show a review prompt to recent verified buyers while those buyers are shopping on Amazon. Products qualify only while they hold fewer than 1,000 ratings and reviews, and Amazon’s closed beta reported three times more weekly ratings and reviews. Here is how it works, who can use it, and what Amazon has deliberately left unsaid.

1. What Review Requests Is — and What It Is Not
What it is not: it is not the free Request a Review button in Seller Central, which sends a single Amazon email for a single order. Review Requests is a paid advertising product that reaches buyers inside the Amazon shopping experience, at scale, while they are browsing.
Amazon’s own framing is candid about the problem it solves. In its announcement, the company notes that new products need reviews to earn trust, that building review volume takes time, and that many customers simply forget to leave one. Review Requests is the paid answer to that forgetting.
2. What the Shopper Actually Sees
The Amazon homepage is confirmed as one placement. The prompt is shown to verified buyers — and, according to reporting on the beta, only after a delay of at least seven days following delivery. Campaigns use the product’s catalog image rather than custom creative, so there is no design work involved.
A one-tap rating and a full written review are very different assets. Amazon lets the buyer choose which one you get.
That matters for planning. If your goal is social proof at the top of the detail page, star counts move fastest. If your goal is objection-handling, written reviews carry the weight, and no advertiser can compel one.
3. Eligibility: US Only, Under 1,000 Reviews, Clean Account
The rules are unusually specific, and they should be quoted precisely in any internal brief.
- Marketplace: United States only at launch. Amazon says additional marketplaces and properties are planned for future releases.
- Who can advertise: registered sellers and vendors with an advertising console account in good standing and no active policy violations.
- Product threshold: fewer than 1,000 total ratings and reviews.
- Enforcement: eligibility is checked when the campaign is created and continuously while it runs. Review Requests for a product pause automatically once it reaches 1,000.
Vendors are included, which is worth noting. Review Requests is not a Seller Central feature that vendor accounts watch from the sidelines; it is an advertising product open to both sides of the marketplace.
4. The 1,000-Review Ceiling Is the Most Important Design Choice
The threshold is easy to read as a technical limit. It is better read as a statement of intent.
Amazon is deliberately excluding established products from a tool that accelerates review growth. An incumbent with 4,000 reviews cannot use Review Requests to compound its advantage. The product is aimed squarely at the launch and early-growth stage — the period when review counts are lowest, conversion rates are most fragile, and a new ASIN is least able to defend itself.
The consequence for competitive dynamics is straightforward. If your competitor funds a review campaign at launch and you launch organically, the visible gap in star counts opens faster than it used to. That does not automatically make their product better. It does make their detail page look more established sooner.
The ceiling also creates a natural exit. Once a product crosses 1,000 ratings, the campaign pauses on its own and the budget is freed. Sellers should plan for that handover rather than being surprised by it.
5. Where the Evidence Comes From
Amazon reports that products in its closed beta received three times more weekly ratings and reviews than before the test. The figure comes from internal Amazon data drawn from a US closed beta held 3 to 21 June 2026.
Note: Context worth keeping: Amazon has not disclosed how many products, categories or spend levels sat behind the 3x result, and the comparison is each product against its own prior pace rather than against a control group of non-advertisers. The number is real; it is not a forecast for your account.
6. What Amazon Has Not Published
Several things a media buyer would normally want before committing budget are absent from the announcement.
- Pricing. No minimum bid, no benchmarks, no rate card. Amazon directs advertisers to their Amazon Ads account team.
- Volume. No projected number of invitations or impressions.
- Guarantee. Amazon has not stated whether a Review Requests campaign guarantees that a buyer leaves a rating or review at all.
Third-party reporting fills some of the gap. UNITIX reports that campaigns are billed on a cost-per-click basis — charged when a buyer clicks into the review flow, not when the prompt is displayed — and that a demo campaign showed a default bid of $0.75 and a default daily budget of $100. Those figures are useful for budgeting but are not Amazon-published, and they should not be presented as official rates. The same reporting notes that campaign reporting separates rating-only reviews from written reviews, alongside average star rating, impressions, clicks and total cost.
7. How It Compares: Vine, Request a Review, Review Requests
| Amazon Vine | Request a Review | Review Requests | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Who starts it | Amazon invites reviewers | Seller, one order at a time | Seller, via an ad campaign |
| Eligibility | Fewer than 30 reviews | Individual orders | Fewer than 1,000 ratings and reviews |
| Limit | Up to 30 units per product | None stated | Auto-pauses at 1,000 |
| Cost to seller | Enrolment fee plus units supplied | Free | Ad spend, pricing not published |
8. What Does Not Change: Review Policy and Gating
Amazon’s Review Requests announcement does not amend its customer review policies.
- Review gating remains prohibited. Sellers cannot ask satisfied buyers for reviews while routing unhappy buyers to customer support.
- Compensation in exchange for reviews remains prohibited. Paying Amazon for ad delivery is not the same as paying a customer for a review, and the line must stay clean in your communications.
- Reviews collected this way are standard verified-purchase reviews. Reporting indicates they carry no ad label and display like any other review, which places the authenticity burden on the policy rather than on the reader.
9. Amazon Review Requests Ads: Is Paying for Reviews Worth It in 2026?
Use it where its structure fits: new ASINs with real demand and insufficient social proof, in categories where review count visibly drives click-through. Do not use it to prop up a product with a conversion problem that reviews will not fix — a one-star reality does not improve with more respondents, it simply becomes more visible, faster.
10. Recommended Actions Before the Beta Opens
- Audit which ASINs sit under 1,000 ratings and reviews. Those are the only products that qualify on day one.
- Confirm your ad account is in good standing with no active policy violations — Amazon checks this, and it is checked at campaign creation.
- Decide on one or two launch-stage products for a controlled test rather than opening the format across the catalogue.
- Set a capped daily budget from your own numbers. Amazon has not published a recommended spend, so default figures in any demo are not guidance.
- Track rating-only reviews and written reviews separately, and compare star average against your pre-campaign baseline.
- Plan the exit: note which products will cross 1,000 and redeploy the budget when the campaign pauses.
Handled carefully, Review Requests fills a real gap between Vine’s first 30 reviews and the point where a product generates its own momentum. Handled carelessly, it becomes another line of ad spend with no defined ceiling. The 1,000-review cap is Amazon’s ceiling. The budget cap is yours to set.
Planning a Product Launch Around Review Requests?
Get in touch with our Amazon agency to define success metrics, budget caps, and a launch sequence before the Review Requests beta opens.